Hot Cross Buns

Happy Easter- I hope you’re had a lovely weekend. I’ve spent a lot of time with friends, family and generally recharging my batteries after a few hectic months, which has been bliss. I’m only back at work for 3 days this week and then off for a week in sunnier climes which I am counting down to.

Yesterday I made my first attempt at homemade Hot Cross Buns. They were really easy, and better yet, delicious.

If you also want to give them a go, here’s how…

Sift 225g plain flour and 1 teaspoon of salt into a mixing bowl. Rub together with 25g soft butter or margarine until the mix looks like fine breadcrumbs. Stir in 7g yeast, 40g caster sugar, 1 tsp mixed spice and 120g dried mixed fruit.

Warm 150ml milk (the recipe said to 37C, but I just warmed it until it was ‘warm’ as I don’t have a kitchen thermometer and they turned out fine!), pour into the flour mixture and mix to a soft dough.

Turn onto a floured surface and lightly knead until elastic and no longer sticky. Cut and shape into (re-reading this recipe now, I did not follow the instructions at this point, so this is my version!) 8-9 rolls, and place onto a greased baking tray, covered with greased cling film. Leave somewhere warm for 45 minutes + (I left mine for double this time).

Make a paste from 25g butter or marg rubbed into 55g plain flour, with 4 tbsp water to loosen the mixture. Pipe this mixture onto the buns to give them their ‘crosses’. Bake at 190C fan (210C otherwise) for 15 minutes, until golden brown.

Warm 2 tbsp caster sugar and 1 tbsp orange juice in a pan until the sugar is dissolved to make a glaze. Brush this over the baked buns and return to the oven for a further 3 mins.

Eat straight from the oven, or allow to cool before toasting.

Happy Easter!

*Recipe adapted from a Stork recipe in Tesco Magazine, April 2014

Leave a Reply

