Best of Board Games

Can I let you in on a little secret? Board games are my favourite part of Christmas. Sitting down with friends or family, bowls of nibbles, a good drink and an amazing board game is so relaxing- especially with a real fire in the background (I love my parents’ woodburner). So, here’s a little list of my absolute favourites.

Mapominoes– literally my favourite game ever! There was a Christmas Day incident a few years back where my sister (in her twenties…) may have shed a few tears and being torn away from The Only Way is Essexmas for a round of this one. Imagine a game of dominoes, but instead of numbers, you have countries. Other than that description (which is awful), you just have to play it- it’s amazing fun.

The Logo Game– if you want to realise how much of a capitalist, consumerist culture we live in, then this is for you. Quick to pick up, easy to play and fun for all ages. This one is particularly funny to play with Chris’s parents as his Dad inevitably loses which does not go down well!

Articulate– you know the one! Describing the word on the card without actually saying it? Hours of entertainment.

Absolute Balderdash– kind of like call my bluff. Each round you have to all make up a definition of something, which will be read out along with the real answer- the aim is to work out which one is real, but somehow the true answers are normally more ridiculous than the ones that are made up. This also gets funnier the more drinks that are downed whilst playing it.

Cluedo– I love this one. So much so, I’ve got an exact system for recording my guesses and thoughts on the litle pre-printed sheet. I actually bought a new copy half price in Tesco about a month ago, so worth looking around for some good deals.

Monopoly– a true classic. And one that I never play because EVERY time I suggest it I get the response  of ‘But we’ll be here all night’ …Yes, and?

Now, down that mince pie and get on with a board game or two. Nothing like a bit of competitive spirit before sitting down to Christmas dinner!

4 thoughts on “Best of Board Games

  1. Yay! A fellow board game fan! We always play Monopoly, Who Wants to Be A Millionnaire and several card games such as Pit and Five Crowns. I must say, I’m intrigued by Mapominoes – I love maps so this sounds like it could be right up my street! 🙂 x

    • Do it- it’s fantastic (think I got it from John Lewis). I’ve got various friends hooked and the best bit is the box is teeny so squeezes easily into a board game drawer!

  2. Big fan of board games and don’t get to play nearly enough now. We always used to play Monopoly as a family. I really like Taboo and Cranium. Never heard of Mapominoes; will have to check that one out.

Leave a Reply

