Leaving on a Jet Plane

20131121-094501.jpg

This is a very aptly timed post. Yesterday, I literally did leave on a jet plane- I’ve been whisked away somewhere in Europe as a birthday surprise. I won’t have found out where until I hit the airport- how exciting!

I’m leaving this as a scheduled post in advance of my trip, so by the time you read this I’ll be on holiday for a few days- I’m sure I’ll have loads to share on my return- don’t worry, I’m packing a camera. I’m feeling a bit twitchy about the trip actually. Normally when I go away somewhere I spend months reading up on the destination on the internet and in guidebooks, so unless we end up somewhere I’ve been before, I am quite literally clueless. Perhaps I need to learn to let go of my inner control freak?

I’ll be travelling hand luggage only for a few trips in the coming weeks, so I thought it might be useful for me to share a few packing tips. This is rich coming from me as I’m so bad at over-packing, but since I picked up these essentials, I’ve been able to pack quickly and lightly!

Cabin-size suitcase. This was top of my list on booking my flights to Hanover (I’m off there next Thursday to visit my sister nearby), as a hand luggage restriction friendly case is something I don’t own. Since I bought this a couple of months ago, I must have used it at least ten times, so a really well-used purchase already.

Clear toiletry bag. Given the liquid restrictions, I knew this would be a lifesaver as I can pack my toiletries straight into it rather than having to decant them from my suitcase once I reach airport security.

Travel sized toiletry bottles. I stocked up on a whole range of these from MUJI for my toiletry essentials for a weekend away. MUJI just do the best range in so many different sizes. I find the standard Boots/Superdrug versions in 50/100ml are just too big for a weekend sized dose of various liquids. I now keep these decanted versions of favourites inside my mini suitcase, making packing a breeze when I need to go away.

Mini toiletries. When all else fails, check out the minis sections in high street chemists. There’s always a multi buy on somewhere and things like toothpaste or deodorant are just impossible to decant.

Oh, and not only is travelling without hold luggage cheaper, it means no waiting in the baggage hall, which can only be a good thing!

This post represents Day 22- ‘Leaving on a Jet Plane’ of Blog Every Day in November #BEDN with Rosalilium

Leave a Reply

