Art in Action 2013

Firstly a quick disclaimer- my only camera for the day was my phone, hence the horrible grainy photos, sorry!

On Thursday, I headed out for the day to the fantastic Art in Action 2013 held at Waterperry House and Gardens near Oxford. This day out is quite hard to describe, but it’s basically a load of marquees full of demonstrating and exhibiting artists along with art supply sales and a range of workshops. It’s also the most upper middle class event I’ve ever been to (Chipping Norton set and all that)- my Mum and I had bets on the most pretentious child name we would come across during the day. My money was on Horatio, hers on Plato (we were disappointed this year, hardly any kids, but a lot of upper-middle-aged ladies-that-lunch). Last time we went was back in 2011 and I think where we chose a weekend to go along last time meant that it was even more heaving.

Art in action

Moving on, the official description…

What is Art in Action?

Inspired by the simple principle that people are fascinated when artists and craftsmen openly demonstrate their skills and discuss their work, Art in Action was born. Approximately 25,000 visitors come over four days to learn, buy and enjoy, exhibitions, classes and performances of 400 demonstrating artists, teachers, musicians and performers.

This year we picked a Thursday in the hope it would be a little quieter and we were spot on. The weather couldn’t have been more gorgeous,

We also had an amazing Lebanese lunch from The Arabica Food and Spice Company. I’ve had falafel wraps from their stand at Borough Market many a time so this time it was time to try the Meze- it was absolutely incredible.

Art in action

The setting for the day was in the grounds of Waterperry House, including this gorgeous orchard alongside the workshop marquee.
Art in action

Art in action

As for the workshop tent itself…

Art in action

Art in action

And I even got involved with the classes which was really great, but more on that to follow.

Art in action

Amongst the exhibitions, there was a Best of the Best tent with a variety of mediums and styles- I think anyone would feel inspired by something there.

Art in action

A hideous subject in this one, but I love the technique and style.

Art in action

This pencil sketch was very me.

Art in action

Just look at the detail in this botanical study.

Art in action

Art in action

Art in action

Art in action

Ooh, and before I forget, there was a Market tent to stock up on all things art and crafty. Somehow I made my way home without one of these gorgeous sketchbooks. I don’t need any more, but find good quality drawing paper very hard to resist!

Art in action

I do think that this event had something for everyone. Even if you’re not an artist, there was still a lot to see and appreciate, or you could even take part in a taster class and see if it changes your mind- I think everyone has the ability to be artistic, it’s more about having the confidence to try it and have faith that actually, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

