New love: Red lips

This week saw the return of the madness surrounding the Rihanna collaboration with MAC cosmetics.

IMG_8307

Here is an example of hype and how I was dragged into it. I’ve always wanted to be able to pull off a red lip, but never know where to start with choosing a shade. One of the often mentioned all time classic red lipsticks is Ruby Woo by MAC. When I saw that Rihanna had reworked the shade for her MAC collaboration- to the aptly named Riri Woo my interest was piqued. Then, I read that she had designed the shade with a group of friends and aimed to suit all skin tones, I was even more tempted. Throw in a matte finish and I was sold.

IMG_6770

I bought this shade on it’s first release back in May and it took me until last Thursday to work up the courage to wear it. I’d swatched it on my hand many a time and briefly tried it on the lips but never felt brave enough to give it a real go. Given the social network mania that ensued with the release of the Summer Riri Hearts MAC collection, I figured it was time to give this a real go. I wore this for a few hours. Granted, I didn’t leave the house, but come on- baby steps, yeah? Do you know what, I loved it! I didn’t feel like me and it took me totally out of my comfort zone but yep- next time I head out on a night out (read a couple of drinks in the pub) I may well crack this one out. Watch this space.

IMG_8308

2 thoughts on “New love: Red lips

Leave a Reply

