Blognix Brownies

IMG_7853

Following on from Blognix, I had a couple of requests on Twitter for a recipe for the White Chocolate and Hazelnut brownies that were my contribution to the cake competition. I haven’t baked in a while so I used the competition as an excuse to get creative in the kitchen and try something new.

IMG_7747

I’ve had the Whitewater Cooks recipe book kicking around the flat for a few weeks on loan from my Mum. I trekked the Canadian Rockies with my parents a couple of summers ago, and our guides cooked a whole host of delicious recipes from this book while we were out there, so we bought a copy to bring home. These brownies are the first recipe I’ve actually cooked from the book so far, so I need to try out a few more. Especially the salads. Plenty of delicious salads. Mmmmm.

That aside, I’ve not been to the Fresh Tracks Cafe, who have produced the recipe book, but the cafe is run by Shelley Adams and is based in the ski resort of Freshwater, British Columbia so imagine the recipes after a hard day on the slopes and those brownies become even more mouthwatering.

IMG_7749

So, the brownies. Super easy and relatively quick to throw together, here’s how:

Ingredients (roughly translated from the Canadian amounts in cups):

225g butter (I actually used Stork marg)

280g good quality white chocolate (I used Lindt as it was on offer)

250g sugar (I used caster but I guess whatever you have is fine!)

1 tbsp vanilla essence (sounds a lot but it worked)

4 large eggs, beaten and at room temperature

250g plain flour

1/2 tsp salt

100g bag of roasted and chopped hazelnuts

Melt the butter and white chocolate (broken into pieces). I used a pyrex bowl over a pan of hot water on the hob, but you could do this in the microwave or as the recipe suggests by adding to a metal bowl and leaving in the oven at 110C. Stir occasionally until fully melted. Stir the sugar into the melted chocolate and butter. Add eggs and vanilla and mix well (don’t worry if it looks a little curdled, this is fine). Add the flour, salt and nuts and stir until just mixed. Pour the mixture into a prepared pan(the recipe states 9″ x 13′ square, but I used a c.30cm diameter round pan as that’s what I had). Bake at 165C for 30-35 minutes or until the top is light brown but the centre is soft. Mine took a little longer, and were still very gooey in the centre so could have done with another 5 mins or so. Cool completely (I left mine overnight) before dusting lightly with icing sugar and cutting to size. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

