Music love

My life in music- a decade’s discography. A tad late (this should have been Saturday’s post), I’ve been trawling the internet archives to find release dates and hits of the past 10 years. I’ve added a single and album from each year that brings back memories for me. Here goes…

2003

Single: Stereophonics- Maybe Tomorrow     Album: Coldplay- Coldplay Live 2003

2004


Single: Katie Melua- The closest thing to crazy     Album: The Killers- Hot Fuss

2005


Single: Arctic Monkeys- I bet you look good on the dancefloor     Album: Kaiser Chiefs- Employment

This was my first year at university, and Arctic Monkeys breaking onto the scene was huge at the time. I went to uni in Sheffield, and this song was massive and I don’t love it any less all these years on.

2006


Single: Gnarls Barclay- Crazy     Album: Snow Patrol- Eyes Open

I remember this Gnarls Barclay single being everywhere that summer, and the ink-blot style video being practically played on a loop on the music channels. Good memories though, of sunshine and making new friendships.

2007


Single: Rihanna- Umbrella     Album: Stereophonics- Pull the Pin

Does anyone else remember this one? The summer this song was number one forever and ever- then it rained forever and ever?!

2008


Single: Plain White Ts-Hey There Delilah     Album: Hot Chip- Made in the Dark

2009


Single: Lady Gaga- Just dance     Album: Reverend and the makers- A French Kiss in the Chaos

This is my all time favourite album- it never fails to pick me up and I’ll often listen to the final track as a manifesto to myself.

2010


Single: Owl city- fireflies     Album: Biffy Clyro- Only Revolutions

2011


Single: Adele- Rolling in the Deep     Album: Bruno Mars- Doo-wops and Hooligans

2012


Single: LMFAO- Sexy and I know it     Album: Emeli Sandé- Our version of events

I think 2012 was the year of Emeli Sandé, no? From the Olympics opening ceremony to closing ceremony, she was there! As for LMFAO, I absolutely HATE that song. But seeing some close friends singing along repeatedly at their wedding last year and looking so, so happy means that is what I think of whenever I now hear it. I think they had the DJ play it 3 times over that one evening.

I feel this post is a bit of a cop out, but this topic has really got me stumped.

This post represents day twenty five of Blog Every Day in May #BEDM with Rosalilium

3 thoughts on “Music love

  1. Pingback: One whole month | Tales From the Finch's Beak

Leave a Reply

