Compliments

 

 

This is a difficult one. I don’t think that I have any stand out compliments that people have particularly made over the years, so instead I’d like to share my thoughts on the subject.

I don’t take compliments well. In general, I will mumble a swift thank you, perhaps feel happy about it if what was said really means something to me, then swiftly forget and move on to whatever I do next. I do think that compliments are a dangerous thing, and I don’t think they should be taken lightly. There is nothing worse than an insincere compliment. Genuine and well meant compliments are, I think, one of the best things a person can receive. Compliments that are said for the sake of it are pretty obvious and not really worth the breath to say them.

Myself? I don’t dish out compliments without sincerity. If I compliment someone, it will be because I genuinely mean it. I’m not one for saying what is expected to stoke someone’s ego. I will only say something positive if I truly mean it.

If you read this and want to compliment me in future- don’t force it. It is easy to tell when a compliment is genuine and heartfelt. For me, there is no greater compliment than someone liking something about you, or something you have done and expressing their appreciation for it when you know they really mean it.

 

I can’t be the only one who feels this way?

 

This post represents day twenty three of Blog Every Day in May #BEDM with Rosalilium

3 thoughts on “Compliments

  1. You’re definitely not the only one that feels this way. I hate people who compliment you because they can’t think of anything else to say! It makes the encounter so awkward because you know they don’t mean it. It means so much more when someone compliments you and you just know they are being genuine!

  2. Totally in agreement with you here. I sometimes find ones that I can over-egg ones that are in fact, genuine and then I just cringe at myself. But I hand out a lot more abuse than I do compliments.

  3. Pingback: One whole month | Tales From the Finch's Beak

Leave a Reply

