Time for tea #1- Winchester Caravan

I like tea. A lot. So much so that I have a whole host of tins and boxes that take up an entire shelf of one of our kitchen cupboards. I love trying out new tea varieties, so when I came across taster packs of loose teas in our local tea shop, Char I spent about ten minutes narrowing down the choices and then made my way home with three. Taster packs in hand, I was struck by an idea for the blog. I don’t drink my different teas as often as I should, so with that in mind this post will be the first of a new blog series- Time for Tea. I’m looking forward to sharing my tea drinking habit with you as well as to trying some new teas out along the way.

Today’s tea is Winchester Caravan, from Char. I bought the sample size for £1 to give this a go before committing to a full size.

What’s in the tea?  Smoked black tea, green tea, oolong tea, rose petals, osmanthus, jasmine tea.

They say: Winchester caravan tea (previously called Winchester City) is an exotic Russian caravan comprising of six high quality teas. With its attractive contrast of black and green leaves and compliment of rose petals, osmanthus blossoms and jasmine, it is unique. The taste is smooth and well balanced with a tender, smokey accent accompanied by a hint of roses and jasmine.

What we did: I brewed the tea (4 heaped teaspoons) in a large teapot for around 5 minutes. This was more than enough tea for a couple of refills each. I tucked the pot in a cosy to keep warm while we enjoyed our first cup.

I say: I didn’t notice the ‘smoked’ part when I bought this, more the mix of teas and the rose petals. When I brewed the tea, there was quite a strong smoky smell which reminded me of Lapsang Souchong (a tea I really dislike) but the tea didn’ taste smoky at all. It was quite smooth and crisp with a faint hint of rose. I didn’t notice the jasmine, but I really enjoyed this tea. Not one for everyday, but a good weekend relaxing tea.

The boy says: It was alright. It tasted nicer than it smelt. Hmm, not exactly a glowing endorsementI think a trip back to Char for him to choose some trial sizes may be in order.

P1160622

We drank this black, without sugar, in our J & G Meakin St Clements cups and saucers. We picked these up with a matching coffee pot and jug from a charity shop in Bakewell ages ago and to be honest, we can’t make our minds up whether to keep them or not. They may be a little too seventies for our taste. The cups are, however, a lovely shape and really fine china- drinking this tea from them yesterday was a joy. Just not convinced about the oranges and lemons (say the bells of St Clements).

P1160631

And, as we were having tea I pinched the last scone left over from a batch I made on Thursday, with a slather of my new obsession, Hedgerow jam. No, I didn’t know that flavour existed either- now I’m on my second jar.

P1160619

Winchester Caravan is available here from Char’s website, or in their lovely little shop in Winchester.

Tea recommendations for future Time for Tea posts are very welcome.

Leave a Reply

