Favourite tradition

This isn’t strictly a tradition as such, but it’s something we’ve started since we’ve been living in our flat together- breakfast with friends. We have had lots of friends to stay over the months, and the best thing has been cooking up a breakfast for us all the next morning. This weekend, we had a quiet Eurovision themed night in with a couple of close friends- much wine was consumed, bad singing heard, and camp dancing watched. Whilst our favourite acts- Azerbaijan: the singer had a dancer in a glass box; Greece: Greek man with full on traditional band, anyone?; and Finland: comedy bridal themed bonanza, we couldn’t quite tell if it was all a joke- didn’t win, the Danish winning entry wasn’t half bad. I’m not sure that a Eurovision drinking game comes highly recommended this morning, but it was very entertaining, and I don’t think watching Eurovision sober is really advised?

So feeling a bit tired this morning, a full on breakfast was in order as per usual. Powered by several mugs of tea (Earl Grey, milk, no sugar), I got to work in the kitchen.

P1160655

Whilst we were all loading up our plates, I made a comment about how I much prefer having breakfast with friends rather than dinner. The response that came back was ‘maybe it’s because you only have breakfast with the people you really like‘. Maybe indeed- I certainly only tend to eat breakfast with people I really do like. A couple of packs of bacon later, we had the start of a beautiful breakfast.

IMG_7049

Feeling the need for some additions of the vegetable variety, as we were cooking up some part baked baguettes, I scattered basil over some cherry tomatoes (best friends, see?), seasoned, added a dash of olive oil and stuck in the oven alongside mushrooms sprayed with herb infused olive oil and chopped chives.

IMG_7050

I’d also been busy baking yesterday (more on that to follow), so we had some Jarlsberg and Fennel seed muffins to add to the table. Yum.

IMG_7051

I opted for a piece of baguette filled with bacon and squished roasted tomatoes, alongside one of the muffins. Mmm.

IMG_7054

I’m looking forward to enjoying many more breakfasts with people I really like. Oh and if anyone can dechipher the meaning of these song lyrics, I’d appreciate it. Courtesy of Mr Lithuania: ‘It becomes untrue because of my shoes I’m wearing today, one is called love the other is pain‘. Hmm.

This post represents day nineteen of Blog Every Day in May #BEDM with Rosalilium

9 thoughts on “Favourite tradition

    • Haha. It’s more that the only people ever here for breakfast are those who’ve stayed overnight, so by default are good friends 🙂 It’s something I intend to keep up!

  1. Pingback: One whole month | Tales From the Finch's Beak

Leave a Reply

