Pets

Ok, Elizabeth– I really have to thank you. I’ve been enjoying this blogging challenge enormously so far, but yesterday in preparation for this post going out, a miracle happened. I dug out my art box, grabbed a pencil, some watercolour paper and paints and sketched for the first time in a VERY long time. So, from the bottom of my heart, thank you. I’ve got my spark back and am feeling inspired.

The topic for such inspiration? Pets. This is one I’ve not been looking forward to since I saw the topic on the #BEDM calendar. But, here goes. My pets. Meet Dimitri (the boy’s) and Jan Ullrich (mine). Two goldfish who became the biggest commitment step in my ten year long relationship three months ago. Goldfish- it must be love.

P1160047

P1160043

I hope our landlord likes Washi tape. Here are the boys sitting swimming for their portraits.

P1160040

Meanwhile in the future, I would like one of these.

Or a cat like this. Google I am Maru, this cat is the shiz, he has a book and everything.

Oh, and in case you’re wondering about the names? Dmitri, well who doesn’t need a Black Moor goldfish named something Russian sounding? And as for Jan Ullrich, given that he’s fat and ginger*, here is his namesake. Ullrich is a German ex pro-cyclist who was Lance Armstrong’s nemesis back in the day and who came out as a doper waaayy before Armstrong was forced to come clean by USADA. Jan  was famous for his unusual regime of piling on the pounds out of the competitive season on an annual basis, before losing it again for the spring.

*Type Jan Ullrich into google and ‘Jan Ullrich Fat’ is 3rd on the autopopulated list after ‘Jan Ullrich doping’ and ‘Jan Ullrich cyclist’. Enough said.

This post represents day seven of Blog Every Day in May #BEDM with Rosalilium

One thought on “Pets

  1. Pingback: One whole month | Tales From the Finch's Beak

Leave a Reply

