Bank Holiday Fun- Part 1, Saturday

This day has been a-coming for a long time, and finally arrived. Tickets in hand, we trotted off to London for the spectacle that was The Mrs Carter Show. I headed up on the train with my sister and whilst she met up with friends, I had a plan and hot footed it across Waterloo Bridge to Lincoln’s Inn Fields to the Sir John Soane Museum more on that another day.

I love walking in London, you see so much more on foot that you would on the tube. I find when I get the tube, I just don’t join up where I am in relation to where I’ve come from. Somehow my mental map of London is vastly improved by being pedestrian. For years I got the tube from Waterloo to Covent Garden without a clue that it is literally the other side of the river. On this walk, I always enjoy the views of the South Bank and up river from Waterloo Bridge.

IMG_6617

IMG_6621

IMG_6618

IMG_6619

IMG_6620
IMG_6622

Next stop, Lincoln’s Inn Fields. The park in the square was filled with beautiful blossom. And frisky pigeons.

IMG_6632

IMG_6623

IMG_6633

I love the terraces in this square, and the museum itself, if nothing but the eccentric odd-one-out, is surprisingly run of the mill from the outside, with no hint of the quirkiness that is going on behind its’ facade. The rain started to fall as I queued to get in.

IMG_6636

IMG_6643

IMG_6639

After a whistle-top tour for a splash of inspiration and a reminder of how interesting this place is, I moved on. For coffee. Alone. I spend far too little time with myself these days, so an afternoon of doing my own thing was pure bliss. I enjoyed a lovely flat white and a banana at Caffè Fratelli on Aldwych (This goes recommended for a quick it stop, the lunches looked lovely) before returning to the South Bank to walk East to the Oxo building. I love the little shops this building holds, and I would have stopped longer if the wind wasn’t trying to share my underwear to the world. Note to self, skirts + wind do not = a good idea. The building has been beautifully converted. My aim was to find the Paul Catherall exhibition, but failed.

IMG_6646

IMG_6649

IMG_6652

IMG_6655

IMG_6656

From the Oxo, I kept walking East to Tate Modern, for a trip to the bookshop- no time to stop for Lichtenstein unfortunately- one for another time perhaps. I’ve never noticed how beautiful the skinny silver birches between the Tate and the Thames are before- love the verticality.

IMG_6659

IMG_6661

Before I knew it, it was time to head back to Waterloo to meet the boyfriend and others and head to the O2 for the gig. I did manage to find the Paul Catherall exhibition on the way back, but only time for a fleeting browse round and bought a postcard- really lovely prints. Its amazing what you can fit into 3 hours when you try.

I’ve not been to the O2 since it was the Millenium Dome, way back when and that place is pretty much a village to itself with streets and everything. We stopped by Gourmet Burger Kitchen for dinner- my first visit and I will definitely be returning. Whilst others went for classic beef, but naked (without the bun, but with coleslaw and salad), I opted for the Captain Cook. Not just a snappy name, this special was filled with battered haddock, pickled onion and tartare sauce. I was suitably impressed.

IMG_6662

IMG_6663

Burgers scoffed and waistlines bulging, we headed to our seats. We may have opted for the cheap (relatively) seats but the view was still fantastic and wow, what a show. This lady can sing, dance, in heels, for a very long time, and for night after night in a row. I am in awe. Girl crush firmly in place, we legged it back to Waterloo for the midnight train home, and managed not to sleep past our stop.

IMG_6672

IMG_6664

IMG_6675IMG_6677 This post represents day six of Blog Every Day in May #BEDM with Rosalilium

2 thoughts on “Bank Holiday Fun- Part 1, Saturday

  1. Pingback: Collecting | Tales From the Finch's Beak

  2. Pingback: One whole month | Tales From the Finch's Beak

Leave a Reply

