5 fave blogs

P1000281

Here’s a mixed bag. Five blogs I love for a variety of reasons.

And a photograph of Anglesey, because it’s pretty.

In alphabetical order…

1. Blashford Lakes

This is the blog from one of my favourite nature reserves. In my other blogging life Not Your Average Birders I’m a bit of a birdwatcher. Not a twitcher- see here Blashford Lakes is run by Hampshire and Isle of Wight Wildlife Trust and this blog is regularly updated on the goings on at Blashford. It’s a lovely way to keep up with nature’s changes through the year, especially when I can’t get out and about as much as I might like.

2. By Fryd

I first came across By Fryd when Jeanette Lunde produced last year’s Mollie Makes (a lovely magazine) calendar. A beautiful mixture of gorgeous photography, words and muted colours. All with the sort of simplicity that Scandinavians do best. I love this lady’s photography and graphic eye so much that I have several of the images from the calendar stuck on the wall in the spare room.

3. One Sheepish Girl

This is a blog which I don’t visit half as much as I should do. I have been wanting to learn to crochet for the past couple of years to no avail so this is something I must change sometime soon. Along with envious craft skills, fantastic photography and a lovely way of writing, Meredith has a lovely sense of style and the colours on this blog are always a beautiful mix.

4. The Vagenda

I came across this blog first when Rhiannon and Holly from The Vagenda started contributing to the New Statesman over at The V Spot. I read their section on the NS for a while before discovering the full website. The articles are a brilliant, feminist take and provide relief from an endless stream of glossy magazine perfection. 23 Ways to Please Your Man, the Cosmo Way over on The V Spot is well worth a read for starters.

5. Vivianna does Makeup

This one could not be more different to the blog above. Purely beauty with a bit of fashion and baking thrown in, this blog is a great bit of light reading. I love Anna’s writing style and this girl could have me convinced I need anything my talking about it as enthusiastically as she does. Out of a plethora of beauty bloggers, VDM stands out for me as being informative, interesting and well written rather than simply a conveyor belt of the latest launches. Other well written and non-vacuous beauty blogs include Meg over at Lips So Facto and Estée of Essie Button.

As well as these five, I also wanted to include 5 new blogs and bloggers I’ve discovered this week as a result of #BEDM…

I’ve loved having the chance to find all sorts of new blogs through the May challenge, I’ve been going to bed far too late trying to catch up with a load of the new posts the last three days. Looking forward to having more time over the Bank Holiday Weekend to explore the blogosphere.

This post represents day three of Blog Every Day in May #BEDM with Rosalilium

5 thoughts on “5 fave blogs

  1. Some interesting looking blogs there and thanks for the mention too.:)
    I quite like birdies as well.Have been rediscovering the joys of spotting what birds we have in our local area.I used to have a spotters guide to birds as a kid so i’m regressing back into my childhood I think.x

  2. Ooh, I like the sounds of those, will check them out 🙂

    I know what you mean, its been manic trying to keep up with all the blogs, there are so many good ones out there x

  3. Pingback: One whole month | Tales From the Finch's Beak

Leave a Reply

